The Love Dare, Day 1

Helen came up with a project for the (thousands of) people who read her blog and listen to her podcast. She wants to encourage them to work on improving their marriages; so she decided to lead by example. Therefore she roped me into doing The Love Dare with her, but putting our answers (well, all except the really really private ones) online to be shared with her Gentle Readers.

I figure, since I wrote ’em up for her blog, I might as well put my answers on mine. Of course she writes in Chinese, and then translates my stuff into Chinese, and then reads them in her little bedroom sound studio and adds music tracks and gets it all mixed and produced and out on the web…and then does it all again the next day. Um…you guys just get my English version. Sorry about that. You should be her Gentle Readers rather than mine, you know.

The only real problem…the book was actually written for people whose marriages were in trouble due to neglect. Helen and I have our challenges but that’s not one of them. So a lot of entries look like the one for Day One…

THE DARE: For the next day, resolve to demonstrate patience and to say nothing negative to your spouse at all. If the temptation arises, choose not to say anything. It’s better to hold your tongue than to say something you’ll regret.

And my note for Day One:

Today was an easy day for me, because my wife did nothing to make me angry, or even frustrated. So it was very easy to be patient today. I realize this is not very helpful to other people, but that is Helen’s fault, not mine.

Leave a Reply

