The Love Dare, Day 2

THE DARE: In addition to saying nothing negative to your spouse again today, do at least one unexpected gesture as an act of kindness.

Well, I thought I had a good idea for an act of kindness. My wife wishes I would call her and talk to her more frequently during the day while I am at work. This is a much more challenging thing for most men then it is for most women, because I think most women have a part of their mind that is dedicated 100% of the time to relationships, where as we men generally can only think of one thing at a time. So when we are at work we tend to think about work. But that makes my wife feel uncared for, because she feels like I never think about her during the day, and how much can I love her if I never think about her? So I made a special point of letting her know that I was thinking about her, because I always keep a picture of her that I really like on my desk right next to my screen. And several times during the day I look over at the picture and I smile at it. But I usually just keep typing. So today, when I looked at the picture and smiled, I stopped working and took my phone and took a picture of her picture and texted her to let her know that I was thinking of her. But as soon as she got the text…she immediately knew that I was doing that in order to complete the assignment. So I don’t know how good it actually made her feel.

Then last night, my wife asked me out of the blue if I would like for her to go with me to a sports bar and watch football. And then I immediately knew that she was keeping the assignment. But I thought it was very sweet of her anyway, so I imagine it was nice for her to get my text. Then I pointed out that we could go clothes shopping, which she knows I hate to do as much as she hates to go watch football. Thus it began to appear that there would be a bit of an argument over which one of us would get to complete our assignment. I decided the nicest thing I would do for her…was to let her be the one to complete the assignment. So I was nice enough to let her go to a sports bar with me. Aren’t I a generous husband? :-)

Leave a Reply

