The Love Dare, Day 4

THE DARE: Contact your spouse sometime during the business of the day. Have no agenda other than asking how he or she is doing and if there is anything you could do for them.

Well, I got the assignment to let my note let my wife know I was thinking about her during the day on Saturday, when I spent most of the day with her anyway. So we wound up having quite a bit of fun teasing each other by saying we were missing each other while we sat next to each other. I think I texted her once at Starbucks from a seat two feet away to say that I missed her. But if this had been an ordinary workday, this would have been very difficult for me. I have a very one-track mind, and when I’m at work I usually don’t get around to eating lunch until two o’clock or even three o’clock because I don’t notice that it’s lunchtime until two o’clock or three o’clock in the afternoon. And I have a picture of Helen that I keep on my desk, and every so often I look at it and smile. But usually I’m in the middle of something and I don’t stop to text her. So we will actually have to see how well I do tomorrow, or rather on Monday. Therefore I think actually on Monday I will have two assignments: the one that is for Monday, and the one that was for Saturday that I didn’t really get tested on.

Leave a Reply

